#GirlBoss

I’m officially back! After a 2-month hiatus from tuesdayswithjordan, last week’s post was the perfect “bienvenidos” to kick off my new and improved 2016 blogger self. As you can see, I’ve done a website redesign that better fits my personality and makes it easier for you to navigate the blog.

If you are wondering why I took a break, I don’t really know. It was mid Christmas vacation and I was busy with friends, family, and the holidays and then I returned to Vanderbilt and had to deal with adjusting to a new semester of classes, finishing up with Dance Marathon (check in next week for more about this event), and the usual busyness of college life.

As for why I returned, I’d have to thank Sophia Amoruso for that. Sophia – the author of #GirlBoss (hence the title of this post) – and the founder and owner of the women’s online clothing store, Nasty Gal, has been my constant companion over the past few months. Don’t get ahead of yourselves; Sophia lives in Los Angeles and we’ve never met. BUT her absolutely amazing podcasts on #girlboss radio have acted as my weekly dose of girl confidence since December.

Sophia’s entire persona just breathes an aura of coolness. She never went to college and left home as a teenager, then was forced to get a stable job as a daytime security guard at an art school because she needed health insurance to pay for a medical procedure. While staring into blank space for 8 hours a day, she turned her love of vintage shopping into a lucrative Ebay shop called “Nasty Gal Vintage.” 9 years later, Nasty Gal has left Ebay and is a full-fledged retailer that pulls in close to $100 million per year and Sophia has stepped down as CEO in order to focus more on the #GirlBoss phenomenon that she created with her book. #GirlBoss isn’t a book filled with calls to feminism nor is it a stale autobiography of her life. #GirlBoss tells the story of a girl who didn’t take the linear path to success, and since then that simple hashtag has come to mean so much more than the title of a book. Here, I’ve compiled the 5 biggest lessons I’ve learned from Sophia and her #GirlBoss initiative:

  1. Anything can be a #GirlBoss moment

Sophia’s #girlboss radio features one outstanding woman each week. But before introducing the guest star, each episode first begins with an amusing exchange between Sophia and her good friend, Liz Carey. What I’ve learned from these banters is that you don’t have to start a company or land a dream job to be a #girlboss. Some weeks, Sophia’s #girlboss moment is giving herself “me” time where she just sits back and relaxes and occasionally Liz’s grandest weekly achievement is packing lunch for her son for school. What we have to remember as college girls is to be proud of the little things just as much as the big things. Getting an internship in an amazing city is awesome, but so is dragging yourself to the gym or finishing a paper you never thought you’d see the end of. Don’t forget to find a daily reason to pat yourself on the back.

  1. It’s okay to cry

 Sophia and Liz have made it very clear that every day isn’t going to be great and that’s okay. Just because you break down and sob in the middle of your school’s dining hall in front of 100+ people doesn’t mean you’re no longer a #girlboss. You just need a moment. And a tissue. And potentially waterproof mascara.

  1. We MUST support each other

 Sophia didn’t build Nasty Gal from a mere Ebay shop to a world-class retailer on her own. She had help, and that’s why she is so passionate about supporting others. The entire idea of #GirlBoss is to motivate women to find their inner boss, or confidence. The only way to do that is to celebrate each other. Don’t put other girls down because if we can’t support each other, who will?

  1. Don’t compare yourself to everyone else

One of the best pieces of advice I’ve heard on #girlboss radio came from Sophia when she told her viewers, “Don’t’ compare your hustle to someone else’s highlight reel.” This is so important. If you scroll through your Instagram feed wondering why your life isn’t nearly as cool as everyone else’s, you’re doing it wrong. No one (well, almost no one) posts their failures and their stresses on Instagram. I don’t. Why would I? I don’t want to give off negative vibes that in turn breathe negativity into other people’s lives. Just like everyone else, I like to post positive pictures that make me smile and will make other people do the same. But when I look at pictures on Instagram, I know that they’re showing everyone’s best. Behind every smile is someone who has been as equally sad, stressed, or mad as you have been. We’re all human, don’t forget that. And also don’t forget that you’re the only you, so that’s pretty cool.

  1. I’M A #GIRLBOSS

The biggest lesson I’ve learned from Sophia is that I am definitely a #girlboss. But so is everyone – including you. The #girlboss radio emphasizes that literally anything can be a #girlboss moment if you make it one, which translates to meaning that anyone can be a #girlboss. As I go through my daily life, I’ve noticed that I’m starting to think “girl boss” in my mind when I – or someone else – does something even remotely noteworthy. And that’s why I turned back to this blog; because it makes me feel like a #girlboss when I finish a post.

You’ve probably heard enough about Sophia and seen too many hashtags for one blog post, but my point is that it’s really cool that something like #girlboss radio exists. Every week I get to hear inspiring stories about amazing women who are breaking through the glass ceiling and paving a new way for women in the workforce. It’s insane to think that there was a time when women weren’t taken seriously at work. I’m so lucky to say that I have never once questioned my own ability because I’m a girl. However, I know that there will be a time when I’m paid less or denied an opportunity (if it hasn’t already happened without me knowing) based on the fact that I have 2 X chromosomes. When that time comes, I’m confident I’ll be able to fight it due to the #girlboss in me.

♡jmd

2 thoughts on “#GirlBoss

Leave a Reply

